Foundation board of directors | Give to Appalachian | Appalachian State University
  • Study in Japan – a student’s dream comes true
  • A Scholarship Opens Doors
  • Building a future of hope
  • Bobby Martin ’92 – from “lousy student” to magna cum laude to entrepreneur – shares thoughts on success
  • Global awareness leads to global competence
  • A Rich Learning Experience
  • A scholarship changed the conversation for Jessica Payne
  • A French perspective on the Appalachian Experience
  • Hope finds her passion
  • Vargas’ year in France affirms self-reliance, inspires him to give back
Foundation Board 2019

Foundation board of directors

Thomas E. Chandler, Jr. (Chair)
Burlington, NC
J. Kathryn Blanchard (Vice Chair)
Charlotte, NC
Charlene A. Johnson (Treasurer)
Winston-Salem, NC
Livian L. Jones (Secretary)
Raleigh, NC
Randy K. Edwards (President) (Ex Officio)
Vice Chancellor for University Advancement
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC
J. Cantey Alexander
Winston Salem, NC
John M. Blackburn (Ex Officio)
Chair, Board of Trustees
Linville, NC
George G. Beasley (Emeritus Member)
Naples, FL
Stephanie L. Billings
Greensboro, NC
Thomas E. Chandler, Sr. (Emeritus Member)
Burlington, NC
Carolyn J. Clark
Boone, NC
Fairley Bell Cook
Raleigh, NC
Wayne D. Duncan (Emeritus Member)
Raleigh, NC
Jack L. Elledge (Emeritus Member)
Statesville, NC
Sheri N. Everts (Ex Officio)
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC
Alicia Farrer
Atlanta, GA
Kyler T. Ferguson
Matthews, NC
Charlene W. Foley
Durham, NC
Paul D. Forte (Ex Officio)
Vice Chancellor for Business Affairs
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC
Kimberly Jones Green
Bowling Green, KY
D. Bryan Haas
Boone, NC
Avery B. Hall, Sr.
Kernersville, NC
R. Vaughn Hayes (Emeritus Member)
North Wilkesboro, NC
Christy B. Holden
Charlotte, NC
Paul L. Kizakevich
Raleigh, NC
Darrell Kruger (Ex Officio)
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
Appalachian State University
Boone, NC
Tasse A. Little (Ex Officio)
Parents Association
Charlotte, NC
Mitchell S. Lemons (Emeritus Member)
Charlotte, NC
Robin A. Lester (Emeritus Member)
Tampa, FL
Hal D. Lingerfelt (Emeritus Member)
Vale, NC
H. Allen Lockwood, Jr.
Charlotte, NC
Jeffrey D. Merritt (Ex Officio)
President, Alumni Association
Appalachian State University
Raleigh, NC
Kay C. Norwood (Emeritus Member)
Charlotte, NC
Phillip D. Ostwalt
Duluth, GA
Samuel H. Powers
Candler, NC
Steven C. Price
Blowing Rock, NC
James R. "Rocky" Proffit (Emeritus Member)
Mooresville NC
James K. Reaves
Kernersville, NC
Darlene W. Romine (Emeritus Member)
Greensboro, NC
Bixby O. Stewart
Atlanta, GA
G.A. Sywassink (Emeritus Member)
Hilton Head Island, SC
James E. Tolliver
Atlanta, GA
Daphne W. Urquhart (Ex Officio)
Vice President, Yosef Club Advisory Board
Asheville, NC
Stacie N. Walker
Raleigh, NC
C. Hunter Widener
Charlotte, NC
Dan R. Williams (Emeritus Member)
Salisbury, NC